Can You Dribble After a Pump Fake In Basketball? Explained


 

 

My brother is new to playing basketball but has watched it on TV all his life. He plays at a local gym and comes home from time to time and because I have coached and played for many years will ask “Is this a travel”. He will then mimic the play in question. The conversation usually ends with a “ Yes it’s travel”. If you’re like my brother and still are unsure about some of the rules follow along.

 

Can You Dribble After a Pump Fake in Basketball? Yes, you may dribble the ball after a pump fake in basketball as long as you have not already dribbled. If you have already dribbled the ball and have it in both hands, the player may not dribble it a second time. This will result in a violation and the ball will be turned over to the other team.  

All though it seems simple, basketball can be a difficult sport to play when starting out, combining skill and remembering the rules at the same time. We are going to go over the basketball rule book on dribbling and pump faking with some examples of violations.

If you are interested in checking out the best basketball equipment and accessories then you can find them by Clicking Here! The link will take you to Amazon.com

Dribble Rules And Violations Explained

The Pump Fake

 

Wait a minute whats a Pump fake? A pump fake is a fundamental skill, used to fake a shot as if you were going to shoot the ball to fool your defender to jump up to block you. If you have your dribble you would dribble right past them and it would be very difficult for the defender to recover allowing you to pass to open teammate or score yourself. The pump fake is also used to draw fouls.

There are a few times where it is actually legal to dribble a second time according to the rule book courtesy of www.nba.com.

Before we dive right into it lets go over the rule of what a double dribble is. Upon stopping your dribble immediately as you catch the ball you may not dribble for a second time. You have five seconds to either pass the ball or shoot the ball.

In Rule Number 10 – Violations and Penalties – Section 3 Dribble

C – A player may not dribble a second time after he has voluntarily ended his first dribble. 

TIP: This is usually when the defender guarding you will get closer and prevent you to shoot or pass as they know you can’t dribble. Plan ahead if you know you are going to kill your dribble make sure it’s because of an immediate pass or shot.

 

Now let us take a look at the rule book of when it is okay to dribble a second time with examples.

In Rule Number 10 – Violations and Penalties – Section 3 Dribble

    • D – A player may dribble a second time if he lost control of the ball because of: 
      (1) A field goal attempt at his basket provided the ball touches the backboard or basket ring. 
      (2) An opponent touching the ball. 
      (3) A pass or fumble which has then touched another player 
      PENALTY: Loss of ball. The ball is awarded to the opposing team at the sideline nearest the spot of the violation but no nearer the baseline than the foul line extended.

Breakdown Section 3 (D)

In Rule Number 10 Section three of the rule book, Dribble (D) states a player can dribble a second time if he lost control of the basketball (1) A field goal attempt at his basket, provided the ball touches the backboard or basket ring.

An example of this is simply a player attempts a shot after dribbling and rebounds his own missed shot. Notice it says it must touch the rim and backboard. So you must attempt a shot and not throw it off the backboard on purpose like Lebron James does when he dunks it off a self alley-oop. If you were to throw it off the backboard and dribbling again that would be a travel.

You may shoot the ball on purpose after dribbling and hit the rim to get your own rebound if your that skilled to do so and continue to dribble a second time. Realistically it is only the first, as they count the ball hitting the rim as no team control and its fair game for anyone who grabs the rebound.

(2) An opponent touching the ball.

When you pump fake and you have already dribbled, if the defender touches the ball and knocks it out of your hands and it appears that you don’t have control of the ball from that point on, you may recover the ball and dribble for a second time. This usually happens when the defender tries to steal the ball by hitting it out of your hands as you looking for a pass or on a block attempt as your trying to shoot.

(3) A pass or fumble which has then touched another player.

So again here you have made your pump fake and lost your dribble you are too far away from the basket so you are looking to pass. If you attempt to make the pass and the defender guarding you has touched the ball and it becomes a loose ball because it will not reach your defender and no one has control of the ball, you may retrieve the ball by recovering it and dribble a second time.

FUN FACT: Pivot Foot – A player who has the ball and is standing with both feet may use one foot to pivot using the ball of their foot while the other may be used by lifting and stepping. Whichever foot is lifted, the opposite becomes the pivot foot and must remain stationary.

basketball player dribbling the ball

 

Can You Dribble Stop and Then Take Two Steps In Basketball?

 

The answer is no, it would be a traveling violation, let us take a deeper look at what the rule book says.

Section XIV-Traveling

    • (b) A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble may use a two-count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.

This rule means you have to be in motion when catching the pass while shooting, passing, and or coming to a complete stop. You are given two steps to do so. A good way to tell is if the move looks awkward more than likely you will get called for a travel.

    • (g) If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.

When you stop dribbling you may take two steps while in motion towards the basket. If you completely stop you may not lift up your pivot foot to take any steps or it will be a travel violation resulting in the other teams’ ball.

Fun Fact: When basketball was invented in 1891 dribbling wasn’t apart of the game at the time, you would have to pass the ball to move it up the court. It wasn’t until 1897 that they included it.

 

basketball game outide halfcourt

 

Can You Pump Fake a Free Throw?

Section I – Free Throw

(f)The free-throw shooter shall not purposely fake a free throw attempt. 

No, you can not pump fake a free throw, While at the free-throw line you must commit to your shot on the follow-through. You Are given 10 seconds to shoot a free throw.

 

Related Q&A

In Basketball Can You Jump Then Dribble?

Section XIV-Traveling

    • (g) If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.

So again the player lifts the pivot foot by jumping then lands with the ball in their hands then dribbles will result in a traveling violation.

 

Can You Dribble After a Step back?

Assuming you took a dribble to step back, you must keep your dribble alive or it will be a double dribble if you decide to dribble again. If you step back with the ball and don’t dribble it will be called a travel violation.

 

Further Readings:

Recent Posts