The backboard in basketball can be considered out of bounds, but do you know all the rules that involve the 6 feet wide and 3 and a half feet tall board?
The whole backboard is not considered all inbounds, there are parts of the backboard when the ball hits or crosses, it is considered out of bounds and a change in possesion. The rim can also be considered out of bounds or a vioaltion, find out how.
We will cover all sides of the backboard, front and back, what’s inbounds and what’s out of bounds.
If you are interested in checking out the best basketball equipment and accessories then you can find them by Clicking Here! The link will take you to Amazon.com
If the ball goes over the backboard is it out of bounds?
According to the rule in the NBA if the ball rebounds off the rim or and backboard the ball is considered out of bounds and the whistle is blown. It will be the other team’s ball, this rule is universal among leagues all across the world.
Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in any direction
or enters the cylinder from below is considered out-of-bounds.
Is hitting only the backboard an airball?
No, it is not an airball as you did in fact hit something, but you can’t intentionally hit the backboard, grab your on the rebound to give yourself the advantage to score, then go back up and put the basketball in the hoop.
Although you may throw the basketball off the backboard and go up at the same time to dunk or lay it in as seen here by Kobe Bryant.
Or throw it off the backboard and pass it seen here. You will notice in both cases the players is in the air and not on the ground when doing so, this is to avoid the travel.
Can the ball hit the top of the backboard?
Yes and No. According to the rules of basketball, if the ball hits the top of the backboard and goes over it is considered out of bounds. If it hits the top of the backboard and hits the support brackets it is out of bounds. So anytime the basketball goes over the backboard it is out of bounds.
If the basketball hits the top of the backboard, the ball is still in play and is considered a rebound again as long as it does not go over the top of the 13 foot backboard.
If the ball hits the side of the backboard is it out of bounds?
No, the basketball hitting the side of the backboard is not out of bounds and is still in play. In fact, you can hit the side of the backboard which feels impossible to make the shot that way but Patrick Ewing did so in a last-second shot and made it. Very doubtful he did this on purpose.
If the ball hits the back of the backboard is it out of bounds ?
The ball hitting directly behind the backboard which is the back of the backboard is considered out of bounds. This will sometimes happen when inbounding the basketball after a basket was made by the opposing team and a player is trying to throw a long pass down the court to an open teammate. The player is in such a rush they forget and disregard the big square in front of them that is in the way.
If the ball hits the bottom of the back board is it out of bounds?
No, the bottom of the back board is not out of bounds, the basketball is still in play. The ball may not enter the cyclinder from underneath the basket. This would be considered out of bounds and the opposing teams ball.